Musings On Film & Me, Or Me And Film

People tell me that I don’t like things. It’s not a concept that I seem to grasp. I only LOVE things. Very enthusiastically. I started thinking about that, and I’m afraid I must give them the right of the matter. The only thing I can recall liking, is apples. Honestly. I LOVE Florence and Paris and London. I LOVE reading and listening to my awesome music. I LOVE the funfair and a lazy day and the Efteling and The Netherlands. But I also LOVE my friends and my room and my books and my old tiny television and my VCR and my VHS-collection and my couch and my laptop and everything that’s on it. Most of all though, I LOVE film. There’s no way around it, and it’s only becoming clearer and clearer to me as I am growing. These days, I only buy books about film or related to a film. I visit film exhibitions. I am following film-related courses (and if they’re not film-related, I will do my damnedest to find/create a link, so I can write about film in my term paper). I think you could say it’s a really big part of who I am. As is LOVING.

Although I may not do liking, I certainly do not liking (in various gradations, I might add). I don’t like food that takes too long to cook. I want it now! I don’t like … I can’t think of anything else I don’t like. That’s awful. There must be more stuff I don’t like. STRESS! Yes, I don’t like stress and everything that comes with it (i.e. pimples, in my case. Only occasionally though!). But my main thing is LOVING. And my greatest LOVE next to film is travel. So the moments when I’m able to combine those… I have started looking for a word which has more impact than LOVE. All I’ve come up with is ADORE. But 1) I am not sure it actually has more impact than LOVE; and 2) it sounds so posh! For some reason. Not to denigrate anyone who uses this term. A few weeks ago, I spent a weekend in London with some friends of mine. Highpoints? Watching Skyfall at the Odeon and visiting the Hollywood Costume exposition at the V&A. I love the V&A. It is my favorite museum in the UK, and possibly in the world (though that might change after I’ve fulfilled my lifelong wish of visiting the Hermitage in St. Petersburg).

Anyways. I couldn’t stop talking about these 2 moments, though all the other things we did in London were considerably amazing as well. I mean, come on. Do I even have to explain this? Hollywood Costume! They were there! Darth Vader and Harry Potter and Indiana Jones! Meryl Streep and Johnny Depp in various incarnations. Very old and very recent films. Awesomely epic music as background. How could someone not love that? Easy to imagine, I was geeking out all over the place. I believe it got quite messy. And Skyfall! At the Odeon! SKYFALL at the ODEON! NEED I say more? I hope not…

All this and more, that’s the kind of person I am. It’s what drives me and what I pursue. That’s me.

3 thoughts on “Musings On Film & Me, Or Me And Film

I love comments, don't be shy!

